Hon Judi Moylan

Federation Chamber- Pearce Electorate Australia Day Awards

Mrs MOYLAN (Pearce) (10:30): Every year as we celebrate Australia Day and the national honours are announced I cannot help but reflect on the thousands of men, women and children who make a voluntary contribution to their local community. Their generosity in sharing their time, talent and, often, money makes local communities better places to live. It was to acknowledge this contribution that I, early in my election to parliament, established the Pearce Australia Day Awards. Over the years, local people of all ages and from all walks of life have been nominated. This year, country people focus prominently although not exclusively, and 13 people were nominated for the Pearce Australia Day Awards. They are: Peter Winstanley, who established an after-hours justice of the peace signing service; Malcolm Roberts, who has been a justice of the peace in the town of Beverley since 1991 and who was awarded for over 12 years of volunteering in the town; Janny Harris, from York, has been responsible for leading a program to beautify the town and plant trees; Guydan Boyle, a young farmer in the district, raised over $100,000 for Kids Cancer Project and organised a separate big fundraiser for Zoe; Mark Palumbo has led a very successful York basketball team; Emily Mott-Hogan, head girl at the York District High School, had a year of achievements in sport, culture and citizenship and also won the high school citizenship award for 2012; Marshall Jones, a student who has mentored other sportspeople in tennis and basketball, the sport of his love, also received an award; Reilly Joyce is still at primary school and has provided a great role model through his swimming achievements; Jake Duperouzel showed outstanding commitment to the West Australian Water Ski Association and was the Western Australian under-17 champion; Adrian Lister was recognised for outstanding service to the York Golf Club; Sue Chapman was recognised for her achievements as a karate champion; Bernie Finestone organised the annual York children's Christmas street party, with great success; Tess Earnshaw donated her time and musical talent for the benefit of the local church and for community events.

Each individual has achieved excellence in their own field of endeavour while demonstrating a strong commitment to positively shaping their local area. They are great role models for others, and their contributions make sure that their communities are great places to live, to work and to play. I extend my warm congratulations to all those who were nominated for the award.


Useful links

  • Grantslink
    A list of available grants and where to apply for them